Lonesome River Band


The year 2001 brought a lot of new changes with the addition of Brandon Rickman and Jeff Parker along with fiddler Mike Hartgrove who had just left IIIrd Tyme Out, along with bassist Irl Hees. The band was rewarded rave reviews for Window of Time, the first recording with that band configuration.John Wade soon replaced Hees on bass, and the group the recorded Head On Into Heartache CD.

In 2005, Hartgrove left to join Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, and Rickman chose to give up touring to spend more time focusing on songwriting, but more importantly much needed time with his family. With Jeff Parker’s contributions on mandolin and tenor vocals, this took LRB into the next generation returning to the bands aggressive, four piece sound that had brought them to prominence years earlier. Shelor brought on a strong picker and a distinctive singer, Barry Berrier on bass who had made a name singing lead and playing guitar with The Lost & Found. Shannon Slaughter then came onboard after initially being hired to fill in during the search for a new guitar man.

In 2007, Hartgrove and Rickman returned to LRB much to the fan’s delight. Rural Rhythm Records released their popular No Turning Back album in 2008. The album made its debut on Billboard’s Bluegrass Album Chart and included their hit song, “Them Blues,” that garnered seven #1s on various national radio charts.

In 2010, they released Still Learning that included two chart singles, “Record Time Machine” and “Jack Up the Jail.” The album garnered the band a nomination for IBMA Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year for “Pretty Little Girl.” The same year, the band was part of another Rural Rhythm project, The All-Star Jam – Live At Graves Mountain that received significant attention from IBMA members: nomination for Album of the Year; nomination for Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year (for Sammy Shelor, Brandon Rickman and Mike Hartgrove’s work on “Ground Speed”); and a nomination for Recorded Event of the Year for the song, “Graves Mountain Memories” (by the Rural Rhythm All-Stars that included Sammy Shelor and Mike Hartgrove).

In 2011, Randy Jones joined the band on Mandolin and Lead & Harmony creating the current line-up of Sammy Shelor, Brandon Rickman, Mike Hartgrove and Barry Reed.

LRB was also part of other various artists’ projects on Rural Rhythm including: A Bill Monroe 100 Year Celebration – Live at Bean Blossom (2011) album that was produced by Sammy Shelor; the 2012 IBMA Recorded Event of the Year Award winning album Life Goes On (2012) by the Musicians Against Childhood Cancer benefiting St. Jude Children’s Hospital in Memphis, TN; and God Didn’t Choose Side: Civil War True Stories About Real People (2013) that made its debut at #6 on Billboard Bluegrass Album Chart; Various Artists.

When this newest version of Lonesome River Band, you can be assured their prominence as one of the most influential acts in bluegrass music is here to stay.